The Difference Between Sadaqah and Lillah

profile picture
Share on
The Difference Between Sadaqah and Lillah
Reading Time: 4 minutes

In Islam, charitable giving holds great significance as a means of worship and assisting those in need. By practising selflessness and compassion we are able draw closer to Allah (SWT) and emulate the character of the blessed messenger of Allah, Prophet Muhammad.

The act of giving is rooted in the fact that all wealth and possessions are blessings bestowed by Allah, and Muslims have a responsibility to share these blessings with others. By extending a helping hand to the less fortunate, we fulfil our duty of caring for the vulnerable and marginalised members of society.


The Benefits of Charity

Charity promotes social justice and equality. It aims to bridge the gap between the rich and the poor, fostering a sense of solidarity and communal support. By distributing wealth and monetary funds more equitably, charity mitigates societal disparities and uplifts the entire community. It instils a culture of selflessness, kindness, and generosity that nurtures harmonious relationships and strengthens the social fabric of society.

In addition to its social impact, charity holds profound spiritual rewards in Islam. Giving selflessly for the sake of Allah is seen as an act of worship and a means to attain closeness to Him. It purifies the heart from materialistic attachments and cultivates humility, and gratitude.

Our wealth is a trust from Allah, and by sharing it with others, we seek His pleasure and blessings. There are numerous ways that we are able to give this charity. Sadaqah, Lillah, and Zakat are all forms of charitable giving, but they differ in terms of their voluntary nature, obligations, beneficiaries, and purpose.


Sadaqah: Voluntary Charity

Sadaqah refers to acts of entirely voluntary charity and is a broader term that encompasses all forms of charitable giving. It is entirely voluntary and can be given at any time and in any amount. Sadaqah can take various forms, such as donating money, providing assistance to poor people, supporting educational initiatives, or performing acts of kindness. The main intention behind giving Sadaqah is to please Allah (SWT), benefit others, and make a huge difference in the lives of needy people. It is a good deed that carries blessings and can be performed by Muslims without any restriction or specific guidelines.


Lillah: Charity for the Sake of Allah

Lillah, also known as Sadaqah Lillah, is a specific type of Sadaqah that is given purely for the sake of Allah, as its literal meaning is “for Allah”. It is a voluntary donation dedicated to Allah’s pleasure and is often directed towards Islamic institutions, religious causes, or projects that benefit the community. Lillah donations typically support the construction of mosques, educational initiatives, Quranic studies, or other religious projects. For the person donating Lillah the intention is to give selflessly, purely seeking Allah’s blessings and contributing to the betterment of society.


Zakat: Obligatory Charity

Zakat is an obligatory form of charity, and the third pillar of Islam. It is the compulsory act of giving Zakat money based on one’s accumulated wealth and specific guidelines outlined in the Quran. Muslims who meet the minimum threshold (Nisab) are required to pay a specified percentage (2.5% minimum amount) of their wealth to specified categories of recipients, such as the poor, needy people, or those in debt. Zakat has specific obligations, beneficiaries, and calculations that adult Muslims must adhere to. It is a mandatory duty and an act of worship that purifies one’s possessions and wealth, promotes social welfare, and fosters a sense of solidarity among Muslims.


The Differences Between Sadaqah, Lillah, and Zakat

While Sadaqah, Lillah, and Zakat are all forms of charitable giving in Islam, they have significant differences. Sadaqah is entirely voluntary and encompasses all acts of charity, whereas Zakat is a compulsory charity with specific obligations and calculations. Lillah is a type of Sadaqah given solely for the sake of Allah (SWT) and is often directed towards Islamic institutions or religious causes.

Unlike Zakat, Sadaqah and Lillah are flexible in terms of beneficiaries and purposes, having no restriction, allowing a Muslim to choose how they want to donate and who they want to donate to. Zakat, however, has specific categories of recipients and must be given to those in need as outlined in the Quran. Zakat is calculated based on accumulated wealth, while Lillah and Sadaqah donations can be given in any amount, large or small, according to one’s means.

In terms of the rewards and blessings, all three forms of charity carry immense benefits and are considered acts of worship. Lillah and Sadaqah are forms of voluntary charity that can be given to anyone, benefiting both the giver and the recipients. Zakat, being a compulsory charity, not only purifies the wealth of the giver but also ensures the provision of financial assistance to the less fortunate, fulfilling the social and communal responsibilities within the Muslim community.


The Importance of Charity in Islam

As Muslims it is important that we appreciate all of the gifts and riches that Allah (SWT) has bestowed upon us. In the modern age the average person is usually concerned about their social status or how much money they have. But with Zakat, Sadaqah and Lillah the modern Muslim is able to spend their money for Allah’s sake.

By being generous and charitable in life, Muslims are able to familiarise their family with charity and let them see the benefits of spending funds in the way of Allah (SWT). One of these benefits being that if personal funds are spent in the form of Sadaqah donations, this can extinguish the sins of the donor.

By giving charity, we are able to foster compassion within our hearts and make a difference to the lives of the less fortunate, all whilst seeking Allah’s pleasure.


The Spectrum of Islamic Charity

Sadaqah, Lillah, and Zakat represent different facets of charitable giving in Islam. Sadaqah is a voluntary act of giving, providing flexibility and broader choices for beneficiaries and purposes. Lillah is a type of Sadaqah donation given solely for the sake of Allah, often directed towards Islamic institutions or religious causes. Zakat, as an obligatory charity, has specific guidelines, beneficiaries, and calculations, promoting social welfare and community solidarity.

By understanding the differences between Sadaqah, Lillah, and Zakat, Muslims can engage in various forms of charity, fulfilling their religious obligations, and benefiting society. Each form of giving holds its own significance and purpose, allowing individuals to contribute to the betterment of their communities and seek the blessings and pleasure of Allah (SWT).

Read more from us